Uncategorized

They All Come Crawling Back

Image

There is one question you need to ask before eating at a restaurant. Ask the people around you, how many times have you eaten at this place?” No you don’t have to ask a million questions like a census taker, but this one question will tell you everything you need to know. If people keep coming back, the food must be good.

I got to thinking about the “comeback” factor this weekend. Friday I had a hot date and we started the evening with Pinot Gris and tempura shrimp tacos at Cellar on Greene. Cellar on Greene is a quaint wine and tapas eatery in Columbia, SC. It wasn’t my first time there, but I haven’t been in years. Obviously it wasn’t the first time for other guests. Folks were ordering left and right without even looking at their menus. At that point I knew I picked the perfect place to start the evening. The writing was on the proverbial wall. This was a place for great food and wine. The tacos were fantastic and I was tempted to buy a bottle of Pinot Gris on my way out but I decided against it.

Image

But my “comeback” theory needed to be tested again. The next stop of the evening was Basil. Basil is a trendy Thai restaurant that has a too cool for school atmosphere with banging cocktails. “Excuse me, is it your first time here,” I asked the table next to us. “No, we come here often and just love it” was the response I got. I asked another patron and received a similar answer. Basil has a fab location in Charleston, SC which I frequent but I wanted to be sure about this location. I got my answer. The Pad Thai was awesome. In fact, the food was so good I went back Sunday for lunch.

ImageImageImage

When trying to decide on a location, definitely go somewhere that has cuisine you like. But remember, if the masses keep coming back, that place must be doing something right. This is one of the times where it is ok to follow the crowd and be a sheep. Happy eating y’all.

P.S. I got invited upstairs after the date so the food and I was obviously impressive. Hehe.

3FReligion…where Friends, Fashion, and Food Rule!

Standard

Leave a Reply

