dscn0638

 

Living in The South is quite nice. Cheap rent, warm weather, and good soul food are all advantages. But for the past few days I have been craving a Cuban…not an actual Cuban man but the Cuban Sandwhich. It’s one of my favorites but finding one in South Carolina that is noteworthy has been hard. Normally a drive to Charlotte would cure this craving but I am growing resentful of the one hour drive I make to satisfy this desire.

Making a homemade one isn’t hard. Will it taste the same as a professionally made one…I plea the fifth. My recipe only needs:

1 pound boneless pork shoulder
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon dried oregano
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, peeled and gently smashed with the side of your knife
1/4 teaspoon dried red chili flakes
1 medium onion, sliced
1 cup fresh orange juice
1 lime, juiced

1 pack of bacon

1 cup low-sodium chicken broth

2 bay leaves
1 long Cuban bread roll
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
8 thin slices Swiss cheese
1 cup bread and butter pickles
8 thin slices deli ham and 5 slices of deli turkey

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
Olive oil
Sriracha Sauce

Ok this is a lot…so you see why sometimes I am not in the mood to make the sandwich every time I get a craving.

cubansandwich31

The best city to get a cuban is Miami but New York makes some good ones too. Readers and followers just pray my strength and hopefully I will survive without my favorite sandwich until Saturday.

How do you like your Cubans? Happy eating Y’all!

cuban-sandwich-e3dfe0922dee58227aa595f7f72995bee5077139-s6-c30 cuban-sandwiches-ck-1940992-l phpThumb_generated_thumbnail

Food

Downside of the Mainland: I Need Some Cuban Meat!

Image

9 thoughts on “Downside of the Mainland: I Need Some Cuban Meat!

Leave a Reply

