lkCx5ZD

Easter is this coming Sunday and Christians (including me) are super excited to celebrate. I can’t wait to go home and spend time with family, friends, and loved ones. The best part about any holiday is the food and typical Easter dinners consist of various soul food dishes. Soul food is always great but I want to mix it up this year. Jesus was Jewish. So…in honor of his heritage and the strong ties between Christianity and Judaism, I think we all could enhance our meals by adding a Jewish dish to the table.

Meatballs are universal but instead of beef and pork…let’s make lamb meatballs. Below I will share a recipe I found on Food Network. Don’t judge me…I am all about diversity but kosher and Jewish dishes are not my forte. But I can’t wait to try this recipe! I love when I can mix my dinner table up and be more inclusive of all types of cuisines. Happy Easter Y’all! XOXO

Ingredients
1 pound ground lamb
1/4 cup finely chopped scallions
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons semolina
1 egg
Vegetable oil, for frying

Directions

Put the lamb into a bowl and add the scallions. Sprinkle over the spices, salt, and semolina, and then beat the egg adding to the bowl. Work everything together thoroughly with your hands, and then cover with plastic wrap and leave in the refrigerator for half an hour.

Line a baking sheet with plastic wrap and scoop out a scant teaspoon of the mixture. Roll in your hands to form the meatball and place on the lined baking sheet. Have a bowl of cold water beside you to dampen your hands with; this helps them not get too sticky for rolling the meatballs.

When you are ready to cook them, heat about 1/2-inch of oil in a frying pan. Line another baking sheet with kitchen towel, and when the oil is hot, fry the meatballs in batches without overcrowding the pan. Cook them for about a minute a side, or until golden brown all over.

Recipe courtesy Nigella Lawson

Food

Christians Aren’t The Only Ones Who Can Cook!

Image

Leave a Reply

